Senior Hockey Team Presentations

The 2022 season for our senior hockey teams saw improved performances across the board and some very pleasing results. Not least of these was the miracle ‘come from behind’ win by the Newtown Falcons men in the Geelong Hockey Association Division 2 competition.

The enthusiasm and positive outlook provided the base for a very enjoyable end of season function to recognise and reward the teams and their efforts. With most players in attendance and encouraged by family and supporters, the evening was a mix of great food, plenty of chatter and laughter, season photos, games badges, merit awards, new players awards and team trophies.



Congratulations to all who were involved in the 2022 season, as players, officials and supporters, and congratulations to all the recipients of awards, games badges and trophies.

Bronze Merit Awards

Thanks for ongoing contributions to the club over a number of years – Dominic Crowley,  Jo Murphy,  Ian Sheppard





Games badges

 Well done to players who have reached games milestones for the Newtown Hockey Club.

  • 50 Games – Hannah Anderson, Dominic Crowley, Oliver Soo
  • 100 Games – Martin Andrews, Basyl Jalil, Grace Milne, Ruby Moon
  • 150 Games – Harry Bradbury, Hailey Wyld
  • 250 Games – Tracey Heydari
  •  400 Games – David Wyld
  • 550 Games – Peta Hanley
  •  750 Games – Claire Barnes















State and Regional Team Awards

Congratulations to players who were selected in Hockey Victoria Masters teams in 2022:

  • Ian Sheppard – HV Over 65s D1
  • David Fitzgerald – HV Over 60s D2






Club Award Winners for 2022

  • Graeme Hawkins Trophy, Best Clubperson – Rachel Moon
  • Alan Barnes Trophy – for promotion of sportsmanship and encouragement of junior hockey – Dan Hale
  • Best First Year Senior Player – Brett Cleeland
  • Most Promising New Senior Player – Mitchell Quick






Team Trophy Awards

D1 Women Newtown Falcons

  • Best and Fairest – Ainsley Stuart
  • Most Improved – Georgia Pritchard, Scarlett Knight

D2 Men Newtown Falcons

  • Best and Fairest – Basyl Jalil
  • Most Improved – Brett Cleeland

D2 Women Newtown Strikers

  • Best and Fairest – Tash Wilkinson
  • Most Consistent – Charlotte Cleeland







Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply